The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas

April 22 at 7:30pm
April 23 at 2:00pm
Dick Van Dyke Auditorium at Danville High School

Ticket Information

Directed by Jodi Prosser-Muller
Vocal Direction by David Zych
Orchestra Direction by Lucinda Lawrence

Book by Larry L. King and Peter Masterson
Music and Lyrics by Carol Hall
Based on a story by Larry L. King

Recommended for mature audiences only – strong language and adult situations


Title Sponsor:

Myers Carpet Weaver's

A Rollicking Hootenanny of a Musical!

This happy-go-lucky view of small town vice and statewide political side-stepping recounts the good times and the demise of the Chicken Ranch, known since the 1850s as one of the better pleasure palaces in all of Texas. Protected by a friendly sheriff and frequented by politicians, football teams, and others, Miss Mona’s cozy bordello thrives until that puritan nemesis Melvin P. Thorpe focuses his television cameras and his righteous indignation on the institution.


Band Leader: Patrick Linn
Housekeeper: Taylor Bigham
Ladies (in the 1930s): Sarah Mills, Haleigh Linn Morrison, Aubrey Falconio, Brooke Kuchefski, Brittni Waites, Breely Arford, Robin Romack
Cowboys: TBA
Farmer: TBA
Shy Kid: Eli Ronk
Miss Wulla Jean: Mary M. Matthis
Miss Wulla Jean’s assistant: TBA
Traveling Salesman: TBA
Slick Dude: TBA
Choir: Kelly Holden, Jodi Prosser-Muller, Lynette Hodges, Carolyn Smith, Barb Whaling, Mark Muller, Gretchen Yordy

Angel: Sidnee Gordon
Shy: Sara Todd
Jewel: Carolyn Smith
Mona Stangley: Suzy Goben
The Girls at Miss Mona’s:

  • Linda Lou: Sarah Mills
  • Dawn: Sonnia Schroeder
  • Ginger: Aubrey Falconio
  • Beatrice: Brooke Kuchefski
  • Taddy Jo: Brittni Waites
  • Ruby Rae: Lynette Hodges
  • Eloise: Barb Whaling
  • Durla: Taylor Bigham

Leroy Sliney: TBA
The Dogettes: Eli Ronk, Patrick Linn, Mark Muller
Melvin P. Thorpe: Grant Morenz
Soundman: Robin Romack
Stage Manager: TBA
Melvin P. Thorpe Singers: Kelly Holden, Jodi Prosser-Muller, Gretchen Yordy, The Dogettes
Sheriff Ed Earl Dodd: Drake Taylor
Cameraman: Breely Arford
C.J. Scruggs: Mark Willard
Mayor Rufus Poindexter: John Dowers
Edsel Mackey: Mark Muller
Doatsey Mae: Gretchen Yordy
Townspeople: Robin Romack, Breely Arford
T.V. Announcer: Scott Eisenhauer (voice over)
Angelette Imogene Charlene: Haleigh Linn Morrison
Angelettes: TBA
T.V. Colorman: Patrick Linn
Senator Wingwoah: Jim Dobbs
Aggies: Bryan McDaniels, Blake Carson, Chris Hodges, Michael Van Hoveln, Teddy Klein, Dave Sanders, Sam Sanders
Towel Boy/Equipment Manager: Eli Ronk
Photographers: TBA
Reporter 1: TBA
Reporter 2: Robin Romack
Reporter 3: Breely Arford
Governor’s Aide: Kelly Holden
Governor: Robert McIntire
Hecklers: Robin Romack, Breely Arford, Eli Ronk

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas is presented through special arrangement with and all authorized performance materials are supplied by Samuel French